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Accessibility

» This presentation will be recorded and posted on DHCS’ 

HACCP webpage: 

https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/HACCP/Pages/Providers/

Resources.aspx.

» Live captions for today’s webinar are available at the link in the 

chat.



HACCP Overview

» Authority: Budget Act of 2020 and Budget Act of 2022

» State-only benefit

» Expanded eligibility will be effective on January 1, 2023

» Phase I Implementation:

» July 1, 2021, launch

» English and Spanish application materials

» Application available in print and online as a fillable PDF

» Documents incorporate initial feedback from California Children’s 
Services (CCS) and pediatric audiology stakeholders



HACCP Overview (Continued)

» Phase II Implementation – continuing:

» DHCS incorporating stakeholder feedback to optimize documents and 
resources

» Materials expanding to threshold languages

» Online application portal (https://haccp.dhcs.ca.gov)

» Additional covered benefits

» Strategic outreach



HACCP Eligibility

» Children 0-17 years of age

» As of January 1, 2023, will include 0-20 years of age

» Must reside in California 

» Not otherwise eligible for Medi-Cal

» Not currently enrolled in CCS

» Enrollment requires a valid hearing aid prescription or provider 

referral



HACCP Eligibility (Continued)

» Household income under 600% of the federal poverty level (FPL)



HACCP Eligibility (Continued)

» Does not have other health coverage for hearing aids and 

related services
OR

» Has other health coverage that limits annual benefit for hearing 

aids to $1,500 or less (effective January 1, 2023)

» Documentation options:
» Denial of coverage notice from other health insurance/coverage
» Explanation of coverage from other health insurance/coverage
» Attestation of no other health insurance/coverage (see application)



Application and Enrollment Process

» Apply online at https://haccp.dhcs.ca.gov

» Complete the application form on the HACCP webpage:
» https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/Pages/HACCP.aspx
» Available in English and Spanish

» Mail or fax your application to HACCP. Please be sure to include all 

required documentation:
 Household income

 Existing health coverage (if any)

 Hearing aid prescription or provider referral

» Eligibility will be determined within 10 days from receipt of complete

application. HACCP will confirm your enrollment status by mail.



HACCP Providers

» Enrolled Medi-Cal providers may submit claims for covered 

benefits provided to HACCP clients through the same process 

they already use for Fee-For-Service (FFS) Medi-Cal and CCS 

patients.

» HACCP-specific provider locator: 

https://providerca.maximus.com/
» Must already be enrolled as a Medi-Cal provider. To learn more and 

apply online: https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/provgovpart/Pages/PAVE.aspx.
» Opt into the HACCP provider locator online: 

https://maximus.surveymonkey.com/r/haccpprovidersurvey.



HACCP Covered Benefits

» ​Hearing aids, including assistive listening devices (ALDs) and 

surface-worn bone conduction hearing devices (BCHDs)

» Supplies, including ear molds and hearing aid batteries

» Medically necessary hearing aid accessories

» Hearing aid-related audiology and post-evaluation services

» Note: Coverage determinations are based on medical necessity. 

There is no cap on medically necessary, HACCP-covered benefits.



HACCP Covered Benefits (Continued)

» Specific examples include:
» Hearing aid assessment

» Hearing aid (monaural, binaural)

» Assistive listening device (ALDs)

» Electroacoustic analysis (EAA)

» Real ear measurements

» Ear molds

» Minor hearing aid repairs

» Hearing aid batteries

» For a more comprehensive list, check on DHCS’ HACCP webpage at: 

https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/HACCP/Pages/Providers/Guide.aspx.

https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/HACCP/Pages/Providers/Guide.aspx


Treatment Authorization Request 
(TAR) Process

» Medi-Cal and HACCP use TARs to support appropriate use of 

covered benefits.

» Some benefits always require a TAR for medical necessity, while 

others only require a TAR after a certain quantity.
» Hearing aids always require an approved TAR.
» Ear molds only require a TAR if your child needs more than two ear molds at 

a time, or more than four ear molds per year.

» DHCS anticipates responding to most TARs within 30 days of 

receipt.



TAR Process (Continued)

» When a TAR is required, it can be submitted for review either before or 

after rendering the service, but must be approved prior to submitting the 

claim for reimbursement. The claim must include the approved TAR 

number.

» Additionally, specific documentation must be included with TARs for the 

following categories of benefits:
» New hearing aids

» Replacement of lost, stolen, or damaged hearing aids

» Replacement of old hearing aids that no longer meet the needs of the recipient

» Hearing aid repairs



Medical Necessity

» HACCP uses the same standard of medical necessity that applies to 

Medi-Cal children the same age:
» Does the requested benefit correct or ameliorate a defect or physical and 

mental illness or condition discovered through screening?

» What is the hearing loss threshold to approve a hearing aid TAR for 

children?
» Measurable improvement of your patient’s hearing – with articulated 

documentation of the improvement and your clinical reasoning.

» Traditional standard: booth testing (pure tone average)

» Alternate, non-booth testing may also be clinically appropriate: otoacoustic
emissions, electroacoustic testing



Explanation of Medical Necessity

» If you have test results measuring comparable hearing or 

speech perception with and without the hearing aid, or similar, 

please share those with us.

» If you are relying on non-testing measures of improved hearing 

or speech perception, please articulate your observations and 

clinical reasoning to document how this helps your patient.



Explanation of Medical Necessity: 
Examples

» Describe the benefits – “The child appears to benefit.”
» Insufficient (too vague)
» Solution: Show us why you believe the child benefits from the device. 

Even a simple explanation can help us justify the expenditure as a 
responsible use of taxpayer dollars.

» Trial and error – “Let’s try it and see if it works.”
» Insufficient (too uncertain)
» Solution: Explain your clinical reasoning why your recommended 

approach will successfully benefit the child.
» If truly uncertain, additional testing and evaluation may be needed.



Submitting an eTAR
» TARs may be submitted online (eTAR)

» Medi-Cal Provider website (www.medi-cal.ca.gov).  From the Providers drop-down menu, select 
Transactions.  For eTAR assistance contact: Telephone Service Center (TSC) at 1 (800) 541-5555.

» The most important thing you can do when submitting an eTAR for HACCP is; select the “Hearing Aid 
Coverage for Children Program (HACCP)” Special Handling code on the Patient Information page. If 
the provider does not use this special handling, their TAR will be routed incorrectly and may result in a 
denial.



Submitting a Paper TAR

» Submitting an eTAR and supporting documentation online is the quickest, most efficient, cost-

effective, and secure way of submitting a TAR. 

» However, you do have the option of mailing in a paper TAR (50-1 form) and supporting 

documentation. Paper TARs should be mailed to: 

TAR Processing Center 

P.O. Box 13029 

Sacramento, CA 95813-4029 

» For paper 50-1 TARs, providers MUST clearly write “HACCP” in the Medical Justification 

section of the form. If the provider does not, their TAR will be routed incorrectly and may result in a 

denial.

» For TAR assistance contact: Telephone Service Center (TSC) at 1 (800) 541-5555



TAR Supporting Documentation

» In order to have your TAR(s) processed in a timely manner, be sure to include any required 

supporting documentation. 

» All TARs for a new hearing aid must include:

» Appropriately signed prescription from an otolaryngologist or the attending physician (in consultation with the 
evaluating otolaryngologist, if possible), when no otolaryngologist is available in the community

» Appropriately signed medical history and physical examination by an otolaryngologist

» Appropriately signed audiologic report and hearing aid evaluation, regardless of the recipient’s ability to speak 
English

» Specification of ear to be fitted

» Documentation requirements for new hearing aids, repairs, and replacements can be found 

in the Hearing Aid (hear aid) section of the Medi-Cal Provider Manual: https://files.medi-

cal.ca.gov/pubsdoco/publications/masters-mtp/part2/hearaid.pdf



FAQs for Authorization Process & Reimbursement

• Does enrollment in HACCP and receipt of the HACCP ID Card identification give implied 
authorization for hearing aids and services?
No, enrollment and ID card reflect program acceptance; TAR approval is still required.

• Is the authorization tied to a particular center for all services or can a patient/family seek 
different services at different centers? If so, can families change providers?
The provider who submits the TAR and receives the TAR  authorization must also be the 
provider to submit the claim. If the client changes providers, the new provider must submit a 
new TAR for any further hearing aid(s) and supplies.

• What is the timeframe for TAR review?
DHCS anticipates responding to most TARs within 30 days of receipt.

• How should providers confirm benefits are active or that hearing aids have not been 
provided by another vendor rendering the patient ineligible for new hearing aids until 
current hearing aids reach their useful lifetime?
Providers may check AEVS to confirm a patient’s HACCP eligibility. Duplicate hearing aid 
requests will be eliminated by the TAR process.

• Will authorizations be issued as a group (similar to CCS’ SCG 04)?
No.



Reimbursement

» HACCP reimburses providers for covered benefits in accordance 

with Medi-Cal FFS rates and reimbursement policies. More 

information can be found online: https://files.medi-

cal.ca.gov/Rates/RatesHome.aspx

» For services rendered by audiologists, the Budget Act of 2022 

restores full reimbursement rates following prior budget cuts from 

Assembly Bill 97 (Chapter 3, Statutes of 2011) which previously 

reduced payments by ten percent. Once implemented, this will be 

effective retroactively to July 1, 2022.



Claims Submission/Billing Example



Supporting Guidance to Families

» What we’re asking families to bring to their child’s first 

appointment:

 HACCP ID card

 Health insurance card(s) if your child has other health coverage

 Documents from earlier appointments (if any), which may include:

• Hearing aid prescription signed by your child’s otolaryngologist or physician

• Medical history and examination notes from your child’s otolaryngologist, 
including medical clearance for hearing aids

• Hearing aid recommendation(s) and audiologic report from your child’s previous 
audiologist

 Any other documents requested by your child’s enrolled provider



FAQs from Families/Patients
• My child qualifies for CCS. Should we switch to HACCP?

No. CCS provides a robust set of hearing aid-related benefits, as well as 
broader coverage for related services. If your child is enrolled in CCS, they do 
not qualify for HACCP.

• My child has partial insurance coverage for hearing aids. Do they 
qualify for HACCP?
No, HACCP currently only covers children who are uninsured, or who have 
health insurance with no coverage for hearing aids.

• How do I find my insurance plan’s explanation of coverage?
You should have received an explanation of coverage document when you 
first enrolled in your plan. You can also call your health plan’s member 
services to request they send you a copy.

• My child needs a bone conduction hearing device (BCHD). Are these 
covered?
Surface-worn BCHDs are covered when medically necessary. BCHDs require 
TAR approval.



FAQs (Continued)
• Do parents need to pay out of pocket for HACCP-covered services?

No, providers bill HACCP directly for covered benefits, just like they do for 
Medi-Cal/CCS.

• Is authorization needed to see my HACCP-participating audiologist?
While certain audiology services do require a TAR, providers may generally 
submit the TAR either before or after the appointment. As a result, the answer 
to this question depends on a particular audiologist’s billing policies.

• What happens if my child’s application for HACCP enrollment is denied?
If your child does not qualify for HACCP, you will receive a letter explaining 
which eligibility criteria were not met, how to request reconsideration of your 
application if you feel there was a misunderstanding or if your circumstances 
have changed, and other programs that may help.



Additional Resources

»HACCP webpage: www.dhcs.ca.gov/haccp
»Apply Online
»Find A Provider
»Billing Codes
»FAQs

»TAR questions/follow-up: 1 (800) 541-5555

»HACCP Help Center: For questions, please call

1(833) 774-2227 or email HACCP@maximus.com





Thank you for joining us today,
and for your interest in HACCP.

Questions?
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