
 
      
  

 
 
 

 

     
 

    
 

   
  

 
 

 
  
    

 
  
   
   
 

 
 

    
  

 

 
 

     
      

 
 

   
    

     
    

 
 

    
     

    

 
 

 
            

   

JENNIFER KENT  
DIRECTOR  

State of California—Health and Human Services Agency 
Department of Health Care Services 

GAVIN NEWSOM  
GOVERNOR  

DATE: January 29, 2019 

MHSUDS INFORMATION NOTICE NO.: 19-002 

TO: COUNTY BEHAVIORAL HEALTH DIRECTORS 
COUNTY DRUG & ALCOHOL ADMINISTRATORS 
COUNTY BEHAVIORAL HEALTH DIRECTORS ASSOCIATION OF 
CALIFORNIA 
CALIFORNIA COUNCIL OF COMMUNITY BEHAVIORAL HEALTH 
AGENCIES 
COALITION OF ALCOHOL AND DRUG ASSOCIATIONS 
CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF ALCOHOL & DRUG PROGRAM 
EXECUTIVES, INC. 
CALIFORNIA ALLIANCE OF CHILD AND FAMILY SERVICES 
CALIFORNIA OPIOID MAINTENANCE PROVIDERS 
CALIFORNIA STATE ASSOCIATION OF COUNTIES 
CALIFORNIA CONSORTIUM OF ADDICTION PROGRAMS AND 
PROFESSIONALS 

SUBJECT: IMPLEMENTATION OF SENATE BILL (SB) 1228 
(Chapter 792, Statutes of 2018) 

PURPOSE  

This Information Notice (IN) notifies and provides guidance to Department of Health 
Care Services (DHCS) licensed or certified alcohol and/or other drug programs 
(AOD programs) of the passage of SB 1228, which will go into effect on 
January 1, 2019.  

SB 1228 adds Sections 11831.6 and 11831.7 to the California Health and Safety Code 
(HSC). Section 11831.6 prohibits licensed and/or certified alcoholism or drug abuse 
recovery and treatment facilities, owners, partners, directors, employees, and/or 
shareholders from giving or receiving anything of value for the referral of a person to a 
substance use disorder (SUD) treatment facility. These prohibitions will become 
effective on January 1, 2019. 

This IN also notifies DHCS licensed and/or certified alcoholism or drug abuse recovery 
and treatment facilities of the passage of HR 6 on October 24, 2018. Subtitle J of Title 
VIII of HR 6, entitled “Eliminating Kickbacks in Recovery Act of 2018” adds Section 220 

Mental Health & Substance Use Disorder Services 
1501 Capitol Avenue, MS 4000, P.O. Box 997413 

Sacramento, CA  95899-7413 
Phone: (916) 440-7800 Fax: (916) 319-8219 

Internet Address: www.dhcs.ca.gov 

http://www.dhcs.ca.gov/
www.dhcs.ca.gov
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to Title 18 of the US Code. Section 220 imposes criminal penalties of up to $200,000 
and imprisonment for 10 years for any individual who solicits or receives remuneration 
in return for referring a patient to a recovery home, clinical treatment facility, or 
laboratory. DHCS licensed and/or certified alcoholism or drug abuse recovery and 
treatment facilities are encouraged to review this new federal law and its application to 
their operations. 

Examples of Conduct that Violates SB 1228 

The following are examples of conduct by licensed or certified AOD programs or 
counselors that would violate Section 11831.6: 

1) Soliciting or receiving any remuneration (including any kickback, bribe, or rebate)
directly or indirectly, overtly or covertly, in cash or in kind, in return for referring a
patient to a licensed and/or certified alcoholism or drug abuse recovery and
treatment facility.

2) Any form(s) of commission or bonus paid to treatment facilities, owners, partners,
directors, employees, and/or shareholders in exchange for a client referral to a
licensed and/or certified alcoholism or drug abuse recovery and treatment facility.

3) Any form(s) of tangible or intangible compensation provided to a client for referral
to a licensed and/or certified alcoholism or drug abuse recovery and treatment
facility. This includes recruitment and payments to potential clients at Alcoholics
Anonymous meetings, Narcotics Anonymous meetings, and any other recovery
meetings.

4) Providing remuneration to any call center and/or company in exchange for a
client referral.

5) Selling potential client information to bidders in order for the bidder to secure a
potential client’s enrollment at a licensed and/or certified alcoholism or drug
abuse recovery and treatment facility.

Penalties for Violation of SB 1228 

Section 11831.7 allows DHCS to investigate allegations of violations of Section 
11831.6, and, upon finding a violation, permits DHCS to impose the following potential 
penalties: 

1. Assessment of a civil penalty of up to $2,000 against a licensed and/or certified
alcoholism or drug abuse recovery and treatment facility for each occurrence of a
violation of section 11831.6;

2. Suspension of an alcoholism or drug abuse recovery and treatment facility’s
license or certification;
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3. Revocation of an alcoholism or drug abuse recovery and treatment facility’s
license or certification;

4. Denial of any new application for licensure for a period of five (5) years from
when the applicant is found to have violated HSC 11831.6;

5. Denial of an extension of the licensing period;
6. Denial of any applications for modification to a license;
7. Suspension of the registration or certification of a counselor or;
8. Revocation of the registration or certification of a counselor.

Allegations of violations of Section 11831.6 can be submitted to DHCS via e-mail at 
SUDComplaints@dhcs.ca.gov or by calling the toll free complaint line at 877-685-8333. 

RESOURCES 

Senate Bill 1228: 
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billTextClient.xhtml?bill_id=201720180SB1228 

Federal SUPPORT Bill: 
https://www.congress.gov/bill/115th-congress/house-
bill/6/text?q=%7B%22search%22%3A%5B%22hr+6%22%5D%7D&r=1 

DHCS Information Notices: 
https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/formsandpubs/Pages/MHSUDS-Information-Notices.aspx; 

Questions pertaining to this IN should be directed to Nicolé Nicholson-Sands, 
Complaints Section Chief at (916) 345-7584 or Nicole.Nicholson-Sands@dhcs.ca.gov. 

Sincerely, 

Original signed by 

Brenda Grealish, Acting Deputy Director 
Mental Health & Substance Use Disorder Services 
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