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Behavioral Health Information Notice No:  22-021 

TO: California Alliance of Child and Family Services 
California Association for Alcohol/Drug Educators 
California Association of Alcohol & Drug Program Executives, Inc. 
California Association of DUI Treatment Programs 
California Association of Social Rehabilitation Agencies 
California Consortium of Addiction Programs and Professionals 
California Council of Community Behavioral Health Agencies 
California Hospital Association 
California Opioid Maintenance Providers 
California State Association of Counties 
Coalition of Alcohol and Drug Associations 
County Behavioral Health Directors 
County Behavioral Health Directors Association of California 
County Drug & Alcohol Administrators 

SUBJECT: Driving-Under-the-Influence (DUI) Program State Licensing Fee 
Increase Beginning Fiscal Year (FY) 2022-2023 

PURPOSE: To provide notification of the Department of Health Care Services’ 
(Department) DUI Program licensing fee increase from $10.00 to 
$17.00 for each newly enrolled participant for the forthcoming FY 
commencing on July 1, 2022.  

REFERENCE:  Health and Safety Code Section 11837.5 and 
Title 9, California Code of Regulations, Division 4, Chapter 3 

BACKGROUND: 

Health & Safety Code (HSC), Section 11837.5 authorizes the Department to increase 
the licensing fees for DUI Programs to cover the projected costs associated with 
administering the licensure of DUI Programs in the upcoming fiscal year. The 
Department has historically adjusted DUI Program licensing fees as necessary to 
account for revenue surpluses or shortfalls occurring in the DUI Program Licensing 
Trust Fund. The revenues  are intended to  support the administration of licensing DUI 
Programs, including but not limited to reviewing and processing initial applications; 
reviewing and approving licensing renewal applications; conducting initial and biennial 
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onsite monitoring; investigating complaints; providing administrative support to DUI 
Programs; disseminating information to the public, governmental agencies, and 
stakeholders; updating and maintaining databases; developing policies, regulations, and 
statutes; providing training and technical assistance to DUI Programs and County 
representatives; and taking licensure actions against a DUI Program. 
 
The current licensing fee of $10.00 assessed to each DUI Program for each newly 
enrolled participant has been in effect since FY 2003-2004. However, the Department 
has determined that sufficient assets are not currently available in the DUI Program 
Licensing Trust Fund and that the current licensing fee of $10.00 is not sufficient to 
support current or planned expenses incurred by the Department for DUI licensing 
activities. Therefore, in accordance with HSC, Section 11837.5, the Department has 
submitted a report to the Legislature to support the increase of the licensing fee. 
Interested parties can access the report at the DUI Program Licensing Fee Increase 
Report to Legislature.  
 
LICENSURE FEE INCREASE: 
 
Effective July 1, 2022, the DUI Program licensing fee shall be $17.00 for each newly 
enrolled participant. The $17 licensing fee shall continue until the Department 
determines that a new fee amendment is warranted.  
 
Licensed DUI Programs shall submit the Participant Enrollment Reports and pay the 
updated licensing fees on a quarterly basis to the Department based on the following 
schedule:  
 
 Quarter  Dates  Reports/Fees Due By  
 First July 1 – Sept. 30 October 30 
 Second Oct. 1 – Dec. 31 January 30 
 Third Jan. 1 – Mar. 31 April 30 
 Fourth Apr. 1 – June 30 July 30 
 
Failure to submit the quarterly Participant Enrollment Report and pay the quarterly 
licensing fees in accordance with the schedule above shall result in the issuance of a 
Notice of Deficiency (NOD) in accordance with 9 CCR § 9824. (See 9 CCR § 9822(e).) 

https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/formsandpubs/Documents/Legislative%20Reports/2022-DUI-Fee-Increase-Legislative-Report.pdf
https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/formsandpubs/Documents/Legislative%20Reports/2022-DUI-Fee-Increase-Legislative-Report.pdf
https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/individuals/Pages/DUI-Program-Forms.aspx
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To prevent errors or delays in processing, the Participant Enrollment Reports and 
licensing fees should be submitted with the DUI Program license number(s) on the 
check or check stub and be mailed to the following address:  
 

Department of Health Care Services 
DUI Licensing Unit 

P.O. Box 997413, MS 2602 
Sacramento, CA  95899-7413 

 
Resources 
 
Health and Safety Code, Division 10.5, Part 2, Chapter 9 
Title 9, California Code of Regulations, Programs for Alcohol and Drug Impaired Drivers 
 
Questions regarding this BHIN should be directed to the DUI Licensing Unit at: 
DUIProviders@dhcs.ca.gov. 
 
Sincerely, 
 
Original signed by 
 
Janelle Ito-Orille, Chief 
Licensing and Certification Division 
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