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Title 10. Investment 


Chapter 5.6. Access for Infants and Mothers Program 

Article 2. Eligibility, Application, and Enrollment 


Sections 2699.200 and 2699.207 


2699.200. Basis of Eligibility.  

(a) All eligibility requirements contained herein shall be applied without regard to 
race, creed, color, sexual orientation, health status, national origin, occupation, or 
occupational history of the individual applying for the program. 

(b) To be eligible for the program, an individual shall meet the requirements of either 
(1) or (2): 

(1) Meet all of the following requirements:  

(A) Be certified as pregnant by a staff person authorized by the Planned 
Parenthood Organization or a licensed or certified healthcare professional, 
including, but not limited to a medical doctor, doctor of osteopathy, 
registered nurse, physician's assistant, nurse midwife, vocational nurse, or 
medical assistant, and have a reasonable good faith belief that the 
pregnancy is not beyond the 30th week of gestation as of the application 
date; and 

(B) Be a resident of the state of California; and  

(C) 1. 	For eligibility that takes effect before January 1, 2014, have a monthly 
household income after income deductions that is above 200 percent of 
the federal poverty level but does not exceed 300 percent of the federal 
poverty level at the time of application; or 

2. For eligibility that takes effect on or after January 1, 2014, have a 
monthly household income, calculated in accordance with the 
requirements of Section 1397bb(b)(1)(B) of Title 42 of the United States 
Code as added by the federal Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act 
(Public Law 111-148) and as amended by the federal Health Care and 
Education Reconciliation Act of 2010 (Public Law 111-152) and any 
subsequent amendments, that is above 200 percent of the federal poverty 
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level but does not exceed 300 percent of the federal poverty level at the 
time of application. 

(D) Pay the first portion of the subscriber contribution, which shall be fifty 
dollars ($50), and agree to the payment of the complete subscriber 
contribution; and 

(E) Not be reimbursed by any health care provider or any state or local 
governmental entity for payment of the subscriber contribution and not 
have any health care provider or state or local governmental entity pay the 
subscriber contribution; and 

(F) Not be a beneficiary of either no-cost Medi-Cal or Medicare Part A and 
Part B as of the application date; and 

(G) Not be covered for maternity benefits in a private insurance arrangement 
as of the application date. A pregnant woman in a private insurance 
arrangement with a separate maternity only deductible or copayment 
greater than $500 shall be deemed not covered for maternity benefits for 
purposes of determining eligibility.  

(2) Be an infant of less than two (2) years of age born to a program subscriber 
who was enrolled prior to July 1, 2004, and reside in California.  

Note: Authority cited: Section 12696.05, Insurance Code. Reference: Sections 
12696.05, 12698(b), 12698(c), 12698.05, 12698(c) and 12698.06, Insurance Code; 
and Maternal and Child Health Access, Petitioner, vs. Managed Risk Medical 
Insurance Board, et al, Respondents (Superior Court of the State of California, City 
and County of San Francisco, Case No. CPF-08-508296).  

2699.207. Disenrollment.  

(a) A subscriber shall be disenrolled from the program and from the program's 
participating health plan when any of the following occur: 

(1) The subscriber so requests in writing. 

(2) The subscriber becomes ineligible because:  

(A) The subscriber fails to meet the residency requirement; or  

http:12698.06
http:12698.05
http:12696.05
http:12696.05
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(B) The subscriber has committed an act of fraud to circumvent the statutes 
or regulations of the program,  

(C) The subscriber is no longer pregnant on her effective date of coverage. If 
notification to the program is received after the effective date, 
documentation by a licensed or certified healthcare professional must be 
submitted indicating the date of the miscarriage.  

(D) More than 60 days have elapsed since the end of the pregnancy for which 
the subscriber enrolled in the program. Notwithstanding the previous 
sentence, beginning January 1, 2014, the program shall provide 
coverage through the last day of the month in which the 60th day following 
the end of the pregnancy occurs. As a condition of receiving the premium 
reduction described in Section 2699.400(a)(5), documentation by a 
licensed or certified healthcare professional must be submitted to the 
program indicating the date the pregnancy ended. 

(b) When a subscriber is disenrolled pursuant to subsection (a) of this section, the 
program shall notify the subscriber of the disenrollment. The notice shall be in 
writing and include the following information: 

(1) The reason for the disenrollment. 

(2) The effective date of the disenrollment. 

(3) An explanation of the appeals process.  

(c) Disenrollment pursuant to (a)(1), shall take effect at the end of the calendar 
month in which the request was received or at the end of a future calendar month 
as requested by the subscriber. 

(d) Disenrollment pursuant to (a)(2)(A), shall take effect as follows: 

1. 	If the program provides notification to the subscriber on or before the 10th of 
the month, disenrollment shall take effect at the end of the calendar month.  

2. 	If the program provides notification to the subscriber after the 10th of the 
month, disenrollment shall take effect at the end of the following calendar 
month. 

(e) Disenrollment pursuant to (a)(2)(B), shall take effect as follows: 
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1. 	If the program provides notification to the subscriber on or before the 10th of 
the month, disenrollment shall take effect at the end of the calendar month.  

2. 	If the program provides notification to the subscriber after the 10th of the 
month, disenrollment shall take effect at the end of the following calendar 
month. 

(f) Disenrollment pursuant to (a)(2)(C), shall take effect upon the date that would 
have been the effective date of coverage. 

(g) Disenrollment pursuant to (a)(2)(D), shall take effect on the 61st day following the 
date the subscriber's pregnancy ended. 

(h) Once a subscriber is disenrolled pursuant to Section 2699.207(a), the subscriber 
cannot be re-enrolled for the same pregnancy. 

Note: Authority cited: Section 12696.05, Insurance Code. Reference: Sections 
12696.05 and 12698, Insurance Code. 
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