State of California Department of Health Care Services
Health and Human Services

QUARTERLY REPORT ON INVOLUNTARY TREATMENT

Year
County Name: Quarter 1 []  July 1 to Sept. 30
County Code: Quarter2 [ ] Oct. 1 to Dec. 3
Quarter3 [ ] Jan. 1 to March 31
Quarter4 [ ] April 1 to June 30

SUMMARY OF INVOLUNTARY DETENTIONS IN COUNTY DESIGNATED FACILITIES
(excluding State Hospitals)
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The above information is required by the California Welfare and Institutions Code (W&l Code) section
5402(a).

The information provided in this quarterly report will be incorporated into an annual report as required
by W&l Code section 5402(d). Please see the next page or reverse side for Reporting
Instructions. This quarterly report should be submitted by the 30th of the month, following the
end of each quarter, via email, fax, or U.S. Mail to:

Email Address: MHData@dhcs.ca.gov

Fax Number: (916) 324-0993

Mailing Address: DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH CARE SERVICES
Mental Health Licensing Section, Licensing Branch 2
Licensing and Certification Division
P.O. Box 997413, MS 2800
Sacramento, CA 95899-7413

If you need assistance preparing this report, please call the Department of Health Care Services
at (916) 323-1864 or email MHData@dhcs.ca.gov.
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State of California Department of Health Care Services
Health and Human Services
REPORTING INSTRUCTIONS: QUARTERLY REPORT ON INVOLUNTARY TREATMENT (DHCS 1010)

SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS: This reporting applies to all instances of involuntary treatment regardless
of funding source. That is, persons who are treated involuntarily in private psychiatric facilities or
whose treatment is funded by private resources must be reported along with persons whose
treatment is funded through Medi-Cal or the county mental health program. Do not count persons
who are referred to another county for services. It is the responsibility of the county in which a
treatment facility is located to include all of the information about the facility in its report.

If there are no designated facilities, public or private, within your county in which at least one
person was admitted involuntarily for evaluation and treatment, you must still submit this
report on a quarterly basis with zero counts in each of the boxes provided. For example: In the
“Facility Name” box enter “NO FACILITY”, and zero fill each of the six treatment categories.

For each private or public facility reported, completely fill out each category of Involuntary Detention.
Do not leave any section blank. If there are no counts for a specific category, please enter a zero
count. Please include a telephone number of the county contact for data verification purposes.

Please use one form to report each quarter.

PROVIDER CODE: Enter the provider code for the facility assigned for the Cost Reporting System. If
the facility is not a Short-Doyle provider, then leave blank.

FACILITY NAME: Enter the names of all facilities, public or private, designated by the county to which
at least one person was admitted involuntarily for 72-hour evaluation and treatment, 14-day intensive
treatment, Additional 14-day intensive treatment (Suicidal), 30-day intensive treatment, or 180-day
post certification during the reporting period. Exclude State Hospitals for the Mentally Disabled from
the list of designated facilities. These are being reported by the State Hospitals.

Note: A person who initially is admitted to a unit within a facility and is subsequently transferred to
another unit within the same facility or to another facility for the same treatment episode while being
held under the same W&l Code section is to be counted only once. This person is to be counted in
the unit or facility where each specific detention was initiated. This is to eliminate duplicate reporting.

72-HOUR EVALUATION AND TREATMENT: Enter the total count of persons admitted to the county-
designated facility for 72-hour treatment and evaluation under W&l Code section 5150, 5170, 5213,
5230, and 5585.55 during the report quarter. If the same person was admitted more than once during
the quarter for 72-hour evaluation and treatment, count each admission. The number of persons
reported should be separated into two groups, children and adolescents (0-17 years old) in one and
adults (18 years & over) in the other as indicated.

14-DAY INTENSIVE TREATMENT: Enter the total count of persons certified during the report quarter
for 14-day intensive treatment under W&l Code section 5250.

ADDITIONAL 14-DAY INTENSIVE TREATMENT (SUICIDAL): Enter the total count of persons
certified during the report quarter for an additional 14-days intensive treatment due to suicidal
tendencies under W&I Code section 5260. If the same person is involuntarily detained for a 14-day
certification more than once during the quarter, count each certification.

30-DAY INTENSIVE TREATMENT: Enter the total count of persons certified during the report quarter
for an additional period of intensive treatment of not more than 30 days under W&l Code section
5270.15 for gravely disabled mentally disordered individuals who are unable to sufficiently stabilize
within the 14-day period of intensive treatment.

180-DAY POST-CERTIFICATION: Enter the total count of persons certified during the report quarter
for 180 days additional treatment under W&l Code section 5303 and 5304.
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